Tuggeranong Community Council Community Service Awards for Tuggeranong Schools



Charlotte Hayes, Lake Tuggeranong College winner

As the Tuggeranong Community Council (TCC) is the peak community body in Tuggeranong representing the interests of the local residents and the communities within Tuggeranong Valley, we think it is important to recognise those students who contribute to the community. Therefore in 2016 we instigated the Tuggeranong Community Council School Community Service Awards, which aims to recognise students who work beyond their school environment and support the community in many ways.

We believe it is good for schools and students, to work with the community to enrich their education and, for the community, to support schools and students and ensure their ideas are listened to and worked upon. To this end, we have also established in 2017:

- the Tuggeranong Community Council Youth Engagement Sub Committee, which aims to include Tuggeranong students from Year 9 up to age 25
- organised annual Youth Surveys (have run since 2017)
- annual Youth Engagement Forums (have run annually since 2017), with students from all Tuggeranong High Schools and Colleges invited to contribute and talk about their ideas. These ideas are then passed on to relevant sections of the ACT government for consideration.

The winners of the Tuggeranong Community Council School Community Service Awards for 2023 are:

Calwell High:
Chisholm School:
Erindale College:
Lake Tuggeranong College:
Lanyon High:
Namadgi School:
Callum Clarke
Lewis Goodale
Rebecca Eichner
Charlotte Hayes
Ashley MacLeod
Helena Ford

Trinity Christian School: Agnes Chettiakunnel